As a scientific organization, the majority of our members are scientists from all fields of research, who are connected by their shared understanding of responsible science, and who pool their expertise. The federation also welcomes representatives from other professions dedicated to the goals and values of the VDW.

Board of Directors:

Prof. Dr. Dr. mult. h.c. Hartmut Graßl, Hamburg (Chair)

Dr. Hans-Jochen Luhmann, Wuppertal

Werner Mittelstaedt (Treasurer)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ernst Pöppel

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Scheffran, Hamburg

Christine von Weizsäcker, Emmendingen

Advisory Board:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Bartosch (Chair)

Prof. Dr. Paula Bleckmann

Prof. Dr. Lothar Brock, Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Michael Brzoska, Hamburg

Dr. Angelika Hilbeck

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Joas

Prof. Dr. Moritz Riede

Frank Schmiedchen

RA Dr. Klaus Schmid

Prof. hon. Dr. Eberhard K. Seifert


Prof. Dr. Götz Neuneck, Hamburg

Managing Director:

Dr. Maria Reinisch